Mawazine Festival

UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

Amazing performances at Mawazine by The Chainsmokers, the great Wael Jassar, Rilès the rapper and the Amazigh diva Khadija Atlas!

published on 27/06/2018

Amazing performances at Mawazine by The Chainsmokers, the great Wael Jassar, Rilès the rapper and the Amazigh diva Khadija Atlas!

Rabat, June 26th 2018: For its fifth day, Mawazine has once again done it in terms of affluence and artistic quality. Regarded as the most promising DJ duo of the moment, The Chainsmokers has shone on the OLM Souissi stage by delivering their unique pop sound that has made them famous around the world. The multi-award winning duo, including four Billboard Music Awards, recently reached the record level of more than 5 billion cumulative views on YouTube. An impressive result that was confirmed during a concert that brought together a very large audience!

From a great duo to one of the most beautiful voices in the Arab world … Thanks to a program that only Mawazine has the secret, the festival-goers were also able to discover on the Nahda stage the texts of the great Wael Jassar from Lebanon. Coming from a family of Palestinian artists, Ameer Dandan also delighted the audience, as he had done so remarkably well during his performances on Arab Idol!

Moroccan music was in the limelight on the Moroccan stage of Salé with the presence of Khadija Atlas, a true incarnation of Amazigh music, and Mehdi Weld Hajib and Hajib, two symbols of the art of Aïta within the new generation.

At the Bouregreg, Rilès, a 21-year-old French rapper, discovered thanks to the Internet, enchanted the crowd, and was a sensation. I a strong and moving speech, the performer expressed his solidarity and altruistic commitment by announcing to the public that he was donating the fee of his performance to a Moroccan association. A surge of generosity that has been widely applauded and reminiscent of past donation by other artists performing during Mawazine: In 2017, La Fouine had donated part of his fee to Lalla Hasna’s children’s home.

At the same time, the Mohammed V National Theater echoed the sounds of the London Community Gospel Choir, a group known for its up-tempo gospel style, swing-beat and traditional R’n’B, which delivering a show full of emotions!

From strings and vibrations, on the Chellah stage, Sahana Banerjee, a sitar prodigy, and Prabhu Edouard, an international tabla specialist, accompanied the voice of Chiranjib Chakraborty, a great master of Indian classical chants.

For this fifth day, the streets of Rabat were in celebration with Moroccan troops: Timing Boys, bringing together a dozen percussionists on unrestrained rhythms of samba, hip hop, salsa, house and chaabi, as well as Groupe Soleil, made up of acrobats and stilt walkers trained at the Shems’y National Circus School!

Newsletter

follow us on

Festival Mawazine

SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

le duo de DJ The Chainsmokers, le grand Wael Jassar, le rappeur Rilès et la diva amazighe Khadija Atlas font vibrer Mawazine !

Publié le 27/06/2018

le duo de DJ The Chainsmokers, le grand Wael Jassar, le rappeur Rilès et la diva amazighe Khadija Atlas font vibrer Mawazine !

Rabat, le 26 juin 2018 : Et de cinq ! Pour sa cinquième journée, Mawazine a encore une fois fait un carton en termes d’affluence et de qualité artistique. Considéré comme le duo de DJ le plus prometteur du moment, The Chainsmokers a brillé sur la scène de l’OLM Souissi en livrant le son pop unique qui l’a rendu célèbre à travers le monde. Le groupe multi-primé, avec notamment quatre Billboard Music Awards au compteur, a récemment atteint le chiffre record de plus de 5 milliards de vues cumulées sur YouTube. Un résultat impressionnant qui s’est confirmé à l’occasion d’un concert qui a réuni un maximum de public !

D’un duo de choc à l’une des plus belles voix du monde arabe : grâce à une programmation dont seul Mawazine a le secret, les festivaliers ont également acclamé sur la scène Nahda le grand Wael Jassar, venu du Liban. Issu d’une famille d’artistes palestiniens, Ameer Dandan a à son tour enchanté l’audience, comme il avait su remarquablement le faire lors de son passage à Arab Idol !

Les musiques marocaines étaient à l’honneur sur la scène marocaine de Salé avec la présence de Khadija Atlas, incarnation de la chanson amazighe, et de Mehdi Weld Hajib  et Hajib, deux symboles de l’art de la aïta au sein de la nouvelle génération.

Au Bouregreg, c’est Rilès, un rappeur français de 21 ans découvert grâce à Internet, qui a fait sensation. Dans un discours fort et émouvant, le chanteur a témoigné de son engagement solidaire et altruiste en annonçant au public qu’il remettait le cachet de sa prestation à une association marocaine. Un élan de générosité qui a été largement applaudi et qui rappelle ce que de nombreux artistes ont déjà réalisé à Mawazine : à l’image de La Fouine en 2017, qui avait remis une partie de son cachet à la maison des enfants Lalla Hasnaa.

Au même moment, le Théâtre National Mohammed V a résonné aux sons du London Community Gospel Choir, une formation connue pour son style “up-tempo gospel”, swing-beat et R’n’B traditionnel, qui a livré un show plein d’émotions !

De cordes et de vibrations, il a encore été question au Chellah, où Sahana Banerjee, prodige du sitar, et Prabhu Edouard, un concertiste international spécialiste du tabla, ont accompagné la voix de Chiranjib Chakraborty, un grand maître du chant classique indien.

Pour ce cinquième jour, Mawazine a aussi continué d’investir les rues de Rabat avec les spectacles de superbes troupes marocaines : Timing Boys, qui a réuni une dizaine de percussionnistes sur des rythmes effrénés de samba, hip hop, salsa, house et chaâbi, et Groupe Soleil, composée d’acrobates et d’échassiers formés à l’Ecole Nationale de Cirque Shems’y !

Newsletter

Suivez-nous sur