Mawazine Festival

UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

Hip Hop takes up residence at the OLM Stage With BigFlo & Oli, Dadju, OrelSan and Future!

published on 16/04/2019

Hip Hop takes up residence at the OLM Stage  With BigFlo & Oli, Dadju, OrelSan and Future!

Rabat, Tuesday, April 16th 2019: On the occasion of its 18th edition held under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI, the Mawazine Festival – Rhythms of the World is preparing to welcome four great rap artists.

For two days, from June 23rd to the 24th, the OLM Souissi stage will be dedicated to word play and flow. Guaranteed fun!

Performing great lyrics and big talk, on Sunday, June 23rd, Bigflo & Oli will be lighting the stage on fire. The two brothers from Toulouse, Florian and Olivio are the youngest hip-hop duo in France to have signed a record contract in 2014. Adorned by Akhenaton in person, blown away by their verve, the band has quickly released their first album, La Cour des Grands, that had become gold and platinum records. Since then, Bigflo & Oli have collaborated with Stromae, Busta Rhymes and Joey Starr. Released at the end of 2018, their latest album, La vie de rêve, is a moving album, full of phases, rhymes and pure hip-hop. No doubt: Bigflo & Oli are not only the youngest French rap band, but also one of the best.

On the same night, another rap style full of talent and surprises, performed by Dadju will uplift festivalgoers. For this 29-year-old crooner, born in Seine-Saint-Denis and of Congolese origin, music is a family affair. His father sang in Papa Wemba’s band and his brother is none other than the famous Maitre Gims!

Solo since 2016, after a successful first experience in the duo The Shin Sekaï, Dadju released the following year his first album, Gentleman 2.0. The record, certified triple platinum, is carried by eight singles that all became hits, including the famous title Ma Fierté recorded in collaboration with Maitre Gims and Alonzo. “French revelation of the year” during the NRJ Music Awards 2018, Dadju collaborated again with his big brother to record Bella Ciao, alongside Vitaa, Slimane and Naestro. A version that found great success!

The next day, Monday, June 24th, the OLM stage will host a rap artist out of this world. Since his explosive debut on the Internet in 2008, with more than a million Internet users clinging to his resounding music videos, OrelSan has become an icon of the French scene. The performance of the artist lives up to his reputation: his second album Le Chant des Sirenes has been certified double platinum and was awarded two Victoires de la Musique. As for his third and last solo album, La fete est finie, it was a true hit: a diamond record, three Victoires de la Musique and a sold-out world tour including in the United States and Canada!

Another star will also be honored on Monday. After a blazing marathon in 2015 with three mixtapes and a high-profile album, the American Future, from Haiti, made headlines in 2017 by releasing two consecutive albums, hoisted to the top spot of the US Billboard. A historical feat for one that critics consider as the most interesting artist of the rap scene across the Atlantic because of his flows and how he navigates between the Dungeon Family of the 1990s and the modern trap-music. For that reason, his unique style appeals to a wider audience.

Newsletter

follow us on

Festival Mawazine

SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

Le Hip Hop prend ses quartiers à l’OLM Souissi Avec BigFlo & Oli, Dadju, OrelSan et Future !

Publié le 16/04/2019

Le Hip Hop prend ses quartiers à l’OLM Souissi  Avec BigFlo & Oli, Dadju, OrelSan et Future !

Rabat, le Mardi 16 avril 2019 : A l’occasion de sa 18ème édition qui se tient sous le Haut Patronage de Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI, le Festival Mawazine-Rythmes du Monde s’apprête à accueillir quatre grandes figures du rap.

Pendant deux jours, du 23 au 24 juin, la scène de l’OLM Souissi sera consacrée aux mots et au flow. Ambiance garantie !

Sous le signe des lyrics et de la tchatche, c’est la formation Bigflo & Oli qui tiendra la vedette, dimanche 23 juin, pour un concert qui promet de faire des étincelles. Les deux frères toulousains Florian et Olivio sont le plus jeune duo hip-hop de l’Hexagone à avoir signé un contrat discographique en 2014. Adoubé par Akhenaton en personne, bluffé par leur verve, le groupe a rapidement sorti son premier album, La Cour des Grands, devenu disque d’or et de platine. Depuis, Bigflo & Oli enchaîne les collaborations, avec Stromae, Busta Rhymes ou Joey Starr. Sorti fin 2018, leur dernier album, La vie de rêve, est un disque émouvant, plein de phases, de rimes et de pur hip-hop. Aucun doute : Bigflo & Oli n’est plus seulement le plus jeune groupe de rap français, il est aussi l’un des meilleurs.

Le même soir, c’est un autre rap, tout aussi bourré de talents, que livrera Dadju. Chez ce crooner de 29 ans, né en Seine-Saint-Denis et d’origine congolaise, la musique est une affaire de famille. Son père chantait dans le groupe de Papa Wemba et son frère n’est autre que le célèbre Maître Gims !

En solo depuis 2016, après une première expérience réussie dans le duo The Shin Sekaï, Dadju sort l’année suivante son premier album, Gentleman 2.0. Le disque, certifié triple platine, est porté par huit singles qui deviennent tous des hits, dont le fameux titre Ma Fierté enregistré avec la collaboration de Maître Gims et Alonzo. « Révélation française de l’année » durant les NRJ Music Awards 2018, Dadju retrouve son grand frère pour la reprise de Bella Ciao, aux côtés de Vitaa, Slimane et Naestro. Une version au succès gigantesque !

Le lendemain, lundi 24 juin, l’OLM accueillera un ovni du rap. Depuis ses débuts fulgurants sur Internet en 2008, avec plus d’un million d’internautes accrochés à ses clips retentissants, OrelSan est devenu une icône de la scène française. Les performances de l’artiste sont à la hauteur de sa réputation : son deuxième album Le Chant des sirènes a été certifié double disque de platine et a reçu deux Victoires de la Musique. Quant à son troisième et dernier album solo, La fête est finie, c’est un véritable carton. A la clé : un disque de diamant, trois Victoires de la Musique et une tournée mondiale sold out incluant les Etats-Unis et le Canada!

Une autre star incontournable sera également à l’honneur ce lundi. Après un marathon flamboyant en 2015 avec trois mixtapes et un album de haute volée, l’Américain Future, originaire d’Haïti, a frappé un énorme coup en 2017 en sortant deux albums coup sur coup, hissés à la première place du Billboard US. Un exploit historique pour celui que les critiques considèrent comme l’artiste le plus intéressant de la scène rap Outre-Atlantique.  Et pour cause : sous son flow élastique et sa lenteur énergique, Future navigue entre la Dungeon Family des années 1990 et la trap-music moderne. Résultat : son style unique plaît à un public de plus en plus large.

Newsletter

Suivez-nous sur