Mawazine Festival

UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF HIS MAJESTY KING MOHAMMED VI

News

Grand opening for the Mawazine 2018!

published on 29/03/2018

Grand opening for the Mawazine 2018!

  • The superstar Martin Garrix will ignite the OLM Souissi stage

  • The Kayser of Arabic music Kadim Al Sahir will touch the hearts of the Nahda stage

  • Ihab Amir, Cravata and Aminux will wear the colors of Morocco in Salé

  • The legendary Ebo Taylor will celebrate the best of Afrobeat at the Bouregreg venue

  • The brilliant violinist Ara Malikian will captivate the audience of the Mohammed V National Theater

 

Rabat March 29, 2018: The Maroc Cultures Association is pleased to present the scheduled concerts for the opening of the 17th edition of the Mawazine Festival  Rhythms of the World, organized under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI and will be held from June 22nd to the 30th, 2018 honoring Morocco, the Netherlands, Iraq, Ghana and Armenia.

 

The sounds and lights of the prodigy Martin Garrix will dazzle the public on the stage of the OLM Souissi on June 22nd. After a career of just five years, Martin Garrix has risen to global stardom in pop as well as electronic circles – and yet he’s far from being done. Now aged 21, Dance music’s freshest talent has headlined festivals around the globe, founded a label and mentored other artists and won the #1 spot in DJ Mag’s Top 100 twice. His passion, ambition, drive and maturity remain unmatched in the world.

 

The same evening, it is the Kayser of Arabic music Kadim Al Sahir, who will perform on the Nahda stage. The Iraqi with 100 million albums sold and more than 40 million fans on social networks, is considered as the most famous singer of the Arab world. The songwriter and composer from Mosul is expected for a performance during which he will demonstrate his perfect vocal mastery, drawing on a repertoire that favors romantic ballads, maqamats, poetry and committed lyrics.

 

As it is tradition in Mawazine, over half of the festival’s programming will be dedicated to Moroccan artists. And it is once again the Salé venue where the best talents of the country will be performing. The opening night will see a trio of singers among the trendiest of the moment. At 22, Ihab Amir is considered as one of the most promising singers of his generation. A native of Safi, he won a MEMA Award and was nominated for a gold MUREX in the category “most popular singer in the Arab world”.

 

Amine Temri, also known as Aminux, one of the most viewed Moroccan artists on YouTube will also be part of the same evening. As well as Salim Bennani, whose band Cravata takes the rhythms of Moroccan folklore and the greatest international hits and turns them into festive and crazy soundtracks that become very popular on social networks!

 

On the Bouregreg stage, fans of African music will meet at the same time with the Ghanaian Ebo Taylor alongside Fela Kuti, one of the promoters of the transformation of highlife style into Afrobeat. The gifted guitarist and arranger will plunge with his big band into the heart of regional traditions. He will be surrounded by exceptional musicians and will feed on the great blends of musical mixes that have been going on since the 1970s in this part of the continent.

At the Mohammed V National Theater, the audience will be immersed in the musical universe of another legend: the violinist Ara Malikian. An incarnation of the cosmopolitan artist, this genius Armenian grew up in Lebanon before studying music in Germany, then moved to Madrid, offering breathtaking shows around the world.

Newsletter

follow us on

Festival Mawazine

SOUS LE HAUT PATRONAGE DE SA MAJESTÉ LE ROI MOHAMMED VI

Actualités

Ouverture grandiose pour Mawazine 2018 !

Publié le 29/03/2018

Ouverture grandiose pour Mawazine 2018 !

 

  • La superstar Martin Garrix enflammera l’OLM Souissi
  • Le Kayser de la chanson arabe Kadim Al Sahir marquera les esprits de la scène Nahda

  • Ihab Amir, Cravata et Aminux porteront les couleurs du Maroc à Salé

  • Le mythique Ebo Taylor célébrera le meilleur de l’afrobeat au Bouregreg

  • Le génial violoniste Ara Malikian envoûtera le public du Théâtre National Mohammed V

 

Rabat, 29 mars 2018 : L’Association Maroc Cultures a le plaisir de présenter la programmation des concerts d’ouverture de la 17ème édition du Festival Mawazine Rythmes du Monde, organisé sous le Haut Patronage de Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI et qui se tiendra du 22 au 30 juin 2018. A l’honneur : le Maroc, les Pays Bas, l’Irak, le Ghana et l’Arménie.

 

Les sons et lumières du prodige Martin Garrix éblouiront le public de la scène de l’OLM Souissi le 22 juin. Avec une carrière d’à peine cinq ans, le DJ Martin Garrix s’est hissé au niveau mondial dans les milieux de la pop et de la musique électronique, et il est loin de s’arrêter à cela. Âgé de 21 ans, le talent le plus frais de la Dance Music a été en tête d’affiche des plus grands festivals du monde, fondé un label, encadré d’autres artistes, et gagné deux fois la première place du Top 100 de DJ Mag. Sa passion, son ambition, son dynamisme et sa maturité restent inégalés dans le monde.

 

Le même soir, c’est le Kayser de la chanson arabe Kadim Al Sahir, qui se produira sur la scène Nahda. L’Irakien aux 100 millions d’albums vendus et aux plus de 40 millions de fans sur les réseaux sociaux, est considéré comme le chanteur le plus célèbre du monde arabe. L’auteur-compositeur originaire de Mossoul est attendu pour une prestation au cours de laquelle il fera la démonstration de sa parfaite maîtrise vocale, puisant dans un répertoire qui privilégie la ballade romantique, les maqamat, la poésie et les paroles engagées.

 

Comme il est de tradition à Mawazine, plus de moitié de la programmation du festival sera dédiée aux artistes marocains. Et c’est une fois encore la scène de Salé qui se fera le porte-voix des meilleurs talents du pays. La soirée d’ouverture verra ainsi se produire un trio de chanteurs parmi les plus tendance du moment. Ihab Amir, originaire de Safi, fera son show après avoir brillamment remporté un MEMA Award et avoir été en lice pour un MUREX d’or dans la catégorie « chanteur le plus populaire du monde arabe ». Celui qui vient de fêter ses 22 ans est considéré comme l’un des chanteurs les plus prometteurs de sa génération.

 

Le Tangérois Amine Temri, dit Aminux, l’un des artistes marocains les plus regardés sur YouTube, sera également de la partie ce même soir. Ainsi que Salim Bennani, dont le groupe Cravata s’accapare les rythmes du folklore marocain et des plus grands tubes internationaux pour les transformer en une bande-son festive et délirante qui cartonne sur les réseaux sociaux !

 

Sur la scène Bouregreg, les passionnés de musiques africaines auront rendez-vous au même moment avec le ghanéen Ebo Taylor. Figure, aux côtés de Fela Kuti, de la transformation du style highlife en afrobeat, le guitariste et arrangeur surdoué plongera avec son big band au cœur des traditions régionales. Il sera entouré de musiciens exceptionnels et se nourrira du grand brassage musical qui s’opère depuis les années 1970 dans cette partie du continent.

Au Théâtre National Mohammed V, le public sera plongé dans l’univers musical d’une autre légende : le violoniste Ara Malikian. Incarnation de l’artiste cosmopolite, cet Arménien de génie a grandi au Liban avant d’étudier la musique en Allemagne, pour ensuite s’installer à Madrid et offrir des shows époustouflants à travers le monde.

Newsletter

Suivez-nous sur